Welcome to Georgia Taxpayers United

Featured

Georgia Taxpayers United was formed to address an alarming lack of accountability towards taxpayers by Georgia politicians at the local, state, and national levels of government.

Far too often, “fiscal responsibility,” “freedom,” and “liberty” are the battle cries of candidates seeking office in Georgia only to have “taxation,” “regulation,” and “statism” become the reality when those candidates become elected officials.

Will you join us by signing petitions, postcards, and letters; sending emails and faxes; making phone calls; personally visiting your representatives; and contributing to our organization?

Together we can hold politicians accountable and achieve maximum economic and personal liberty for each and every individual in Georgia!

>>> Read more: About Us

Candidate Survey Results for the 2017 Senate District 32 Special Election

Georgia Taxpayers United surveyed each of the candidates State Senate District 32 special election for 2017. We ask candidates to give us a straight answer, “yes” or “no,” on issues that are important to our supporters. We gave each candidate until April 10th to return their completed survey.

Survey Questions

  1. Will you support legislation that will effectively nullify Obamacare?
  2. Will you support legislation to repeal the hospital bed tax and oppose all efforts to give revenue (taxing) authority to unelected bureaucrats?
  3. Will you support legislation to completely repeal the state income tax in Georgia including any and all State taxes on dividends and interest?
  4. Will you support legislation, including any necessary constitutional amendment(s), to completely repeal all property taxes in Georgia?
  5. Will you support legislation, including any necessary constitutional amendment(s), to repeal all ad valorem taxes on automobiles and all motor fuel taxes?
  6. Will you support legislation to completely repeal the Transportation Investment Act and to abolish the 12 regional commissions?
  7. Will you support legislation to completely repeal Georgia’s Internet tax scheme?

Survey Responses

Key: Yes = Yes, No = No, Yes and will sponsor = Yes and will sponsor, Did not answer = Did not answer

Continue reading

Candidate Survey Results for the 2016 Primary

Georgia Taxpayers United surveyed each of the candidates for each State House and State Senate race. We ask candidates to give us a straight answer, “yes” or “no,” on issues that are important to our supporters. We gave each candidate until May 2nd to return their completed survey.

Survey Questions

  1. Will you support legislation that will effectively nullify Obamacare?
  2. Will you support legislation to repeal the hospital bed tax and oppose all efforts to give revenue (taxing) authority to unelected bureaucrats?
  3. Will you support legislation to completely repeal the state income tax in Georgia including any and all State taxes on dividends and interest?
  4. Will you support legislation, including any necessary constitutional amendment(s), to completely repeal all property taxes in Georgia?
  5. Will you support legislation, including any necessary constitutional amendment(s), to repeal all ad valorem taxes on automobiles and all motor fuel taxes?
  6. Will you support legislation to completely repeal the Transportation Investment Act and to abolish the 12 regional commissions?
  7. Will you support legislation to completely repeal Georgia’s Internet tax scheme?

Survey Responses

Key: Yes = Yes, No = No, Yes and will sponsor = Yes and will sponsor, Did not answer = Did not answer

Continue reading

Stop the unconstitutional gas tax hike!

Thanks to your phone calls and emails, the pro-tax hike politicians in Atlanta have started to feel the heat.

As a result, they put their plans to vote on the gas tax hike bill, H.B. 170, on hold.

But our fight isn’t over yet — they’re coming back to the Capitol today, and they could vote on the gas tax hike bill at any time.

And I am afraid many of the politicians are going to cave to pressure from special interests and vote for a tax hike if we don’t make our voices heard.

You see, the gas tax hike bill’s chief sponsor, Representative Jay Roberts, has been twisting arms and cutting deals to get his bill passed.

At the hearing last Thursday, Rep. Roberts even admitted that parts of H.B. 170 were unconstitutional!

Jay Roberts wants to raise taxes and shred the GA Constitution in the processThose sections of the bill were added to appeal to Democratic committee members.

That just shows how desperate he is to pass this gas tax hike and to what lengths he will go to buy votes from other state representatives.

Continue reading

No Tax Hikes for Transportation Boondoggles!

These state representatives are about to vote on a gasoline tax hike that will take an estimated $1 BILLION from Georgians like you.

Georgians already pay a whopping 26 cents per gallon at the pump, and now politicians at the Capitol in Atlanta want to raise those taxes even higher.

These politicians’ tax hike scheme even includes an automatic tax hike each year as vehicles get more fuel efficient. If this bill passes, you can forget any savings you might have gotten from buying a fuel efficient car!

Please contact these state representatives and send them a clear, polite, but firm message:

“No tax hikes for transportation! Vote “NO” on House Bill 170!”

First Last Official Email Capitol Phone
John Deffenbaugh john.deffenbaugh@house.ga.gov 404.656.0202
Mandi Ballinger mandi.ballinger@house.ga.gov 404.656.0254
Mark Hamilton mark.hamilton@house.ga.gov 404.656.5132
Tommy Benton tommy.benton@house.ga.gov 404.463.3793
Tommy McCall tom.mccall@house.ga.gov 404.656.5099
Ed Setzler ed.setzler@house.ga.gov 404.656.7857
John Carson john.carson@house.ga.gov 404.656.0287
Harry Geisinger harry.geisinger@house.ga.gov 404.657.1803
Sheila Jones sheila.jones@house.ga.gov 404.656.0126
Pat Gardner pat.gardner@house.ga.gov 404.656.0265
Keisha Waites keisha.waites@house.ga.gov 404.656.0220
Darryl Jordan darryl.jordan@house.ga.gov 404.656.0116
Mike Jacobs mike.jacobs@house.ga.gov 404.656.5116
Valerie Clark valerie.clark@house.ga.gov 404.656.0202
Bret Harrell brett.harrell@house.ga.gov 404.656.0254
Dale Rutledge dale.rutledge@house.ga.gov 404.656.0109
Babara Sims barbara.sims@house.ga.gov 404.656.7855
Brian Prince brian.prince@house.ga.gov 404.656.0116
Bubber Epps bubber.epps@house.ga.gov 404.656.0298
Ed Rynders ed.rynders@house.ga.gov 404.656.6108
Jay Roberts jay.roberts@house.ga.gov 404.656.7153
Jon Burns jon.burns@house.ga.gov 404.656.5099
Bob Bryant bob.bryant@house.ga.gov 404.656.0298
Al Williams al.williams@house.ga.gov 404.656.6372
Sam Watson sam.watson@house.ga.gov 404.656.0213
Chad Nimmer chad.nimmer@house.ga.gov 404.651.7737

Attend your 2015 GOP Mass Precinct Meeting

Help fight the gas tax by attending your 2015 GOP Mass Precinct Meeting and passing our Resolution Opposing Any Transportation Tax Increase in Georgia.

Counties with populations over 80,000 (listed below) meet on Saturday, February 7th.

Registration opens at 9 AM and closes at 10 AM sharp (so don’t be late).

Be sure to print out your voter registration details and bring the printout to your mass precinct meeting.

County More Info
Bartow CLICK HERE
Bibb CLICK HERE
Carroll CLICK HERE
Chatham CLICK HERE
Cherokee CLICK HERE
Clarke CLICK HERE
Clayton CLICK HERE
Cobb CLICK HERE
Columbia CLICK HERE
Coweta CLICK HERE
DeKalb CLICK HERE
Dougherty CLICK HERE
Douglas CLICK HERE
Fayette CLICK HERE
Floyd CLICK HERE
Forsyth CLICK HERE
Fulton CLICK HERE
Glynn CLICK HERE
Gwinnett CLICK HERE
Hall CLICK HERE
Henry CLICK HERE
Houston CLICK HERE
Lowndes CLICK HERE
Muscogee CLICK HERE
Newton CLICK HERE
Paulding CLICK HERE
Richmond CLICK HERE
Rockdale CLICK HERE
Walton CLICK HERE
Whitfield CLICK HERE

All other counties will meet on Saturday, March 14th.

Candidate Survey Results for the 2014 General Election

Georgia Taxpayers United surveyed each of the candidates for each State House, State Senate, and Gubernatorial race. We ask candidates to give us a straight answer, “yes” or “no,” on issues that are important to our supporters. We gave each candidate until April 21st to return their completed survey.

Survey Questions

  1. Will you support legislation that will effectively nullify Obamacare in Georgia by authorizing State and local law enforcement to arrest federal officials attempting to implement Obamacare within the State of Georgia and by providing legal recourse to Georgia citizens adversely affected by Obamacare?
  2. Will you support legislation to repeal the hospital bed tax and oppose all efforts to give revenue (taxing) authority to unelected bureaucrats?
  3. Will you support legislation to completely repeal the state income tax in Georgia including any and all State taxes on dividends and interest?
  4. Will you support legislation, including any necessary constitutional amendment(s), to completely repeal all property taxes in Georgia?
  5. Will you support legislation, including any necessary constitutional amendment(s), to repeal all ad valorem taxes on automobiles, the prepaid motor fuel tax, and the motor fuel excise tax?
  6. Will you support legislation to completely repeal the Transportation Investment Act and to abolish the 12 regional commissions?
  7. Will you support legislation to completely repeal Georgia’s Internet tax scheme?

Survey Responses

Key: Yes = Yes, No = No, Yes and will sponsor = Yes and will sponsor, Did not answer = Did not answer
Continue reading

Candidate Survey Results for the 2014 Primary

Georgia Taxpayers United surveyed each of the candidates for each State House, State Senate, and Gubernatorial race. We ask candidates to give us a straight answer, “yes” or “no,” on issues that are important to our supporters. We gave each candidate until April 21st to return their completed survey.

Survey Questions

  1. Will you support legislation that will effectively nullify Obamacare in Georgia by authorizing State and local law enforcement to arrest federal officials attempting to implement Obamacare within the State of Georgia and by providing legal recourse to Georgia citizens adversely affected by Obamacare?
  2. Will you support legislation to repeal the hospital bed tax and oppose all efforts to give revenue (taxing) authority to unelected bureaucrats?
  3. Will you support legislation to completely repeal the state income tax in Georgia including any and all State taxes on dividends and interest?
  4. Will you support legislation, including any necessary constitutional amendment(s), to completely repeal all property taxes in Georgia?
  5. Will you support legislation, including any necessary constitutional amendment(s), to repeal all ad valorem taxes on automobiles, the prepaid motor fuel tax, and the motor fuel excise tax?
  6. Will you support legislation to completely repeal the Transportation Investment Act and to abolish the 12 regional commissions?
  7. Will you support legislation to completely repeal Georgia’s Internet tax scheme?

Survey Responses

Key: Yes = Yes, No = No, Yes and will sponsor = Yes and will sponsor, Did not answer = Did not answer
Continue reading